J. Michael Bradford Memorial Award

Each year NAFUSA recognizes an Assistant United States Attorney for outstanding performance through the J. Michael Bradford Award. The award is named after J. Michael Bradford, who served as a U.S. Attorney in the Eastern District of Texas from 1994 to 2001. Bradford, who died in 2003, had a distinguished career in public service, including successfully defending the government against lawsuits stemming from the 1993 siege of the Branch Davidian’s compound in Waco, Texas. NAFUSA annually solicits nominations from current U.S. Attorneys for the Bradford Award. Typically, the recipient has handled a significant investigation and prosecution or series of prosecutions that has had a significant impact and merits special recognition.

We are pleased to honor past winners of the J. Michael Bradford Memorial Award:

  • 2015-    Elizabeth Geddes, ED New York, Joan Hartman, ED Michigan
  • 2014 –   John Gay, Joseph Minish and Steven Sanders, New Jersey
  • 2013 — Michael Bosworth, SD New York
  • 2012 — Reid Schar, ND Illinois
  • 2011 — Ken Sorenson, Hawaii
  • 2010 — Kathleen M. Mehltretter, WD New York
  • 2009 — Marshall L. Miller, ED New York
  • 2008 — David M. DeVillers and Kevin W. Kelley, SD Ohio
  • 2007 — Richard D. Gregorie, SD Florida
  • 2006 — John L. Durham, Connecticut
  • 2005 — Craig S. Morford, ND Ohio
  • 2004 — John M. Bales, ED Texas
  • 2003 — Michael Patrick Sullivan, SD Florida
  • 2002 — Robert O. Posey, ND Alabama
  • 2001 — Not awarded
  • 2000 — Lynn E. Crooks, North Dakota
  • 1999 — James G. Sheehan, ED Pennsylvania