Support Grows For Criminal Justice Reform

As the Senate Judiciary Committee holds a major hearing today on criminal justice reform, the Law Enforcement Leaders To Reduce Crime & Incarceration delivered a letter to the leaders of Congress supporting the Sentencing Reform and Corrections Act of 2015 (S.2123).

The letter, signed by over 70 prominent police chiefs and federal prosecutors, urges Congress to act on the Sentencing Reform and Corrections Act of 2015, which would reduce prison populations by reforming federal mandatory minimum sentences. 26 NAFUSA members Zachary Carter, Tristram Coffin, Paul Coggins, Richard Deane, Donald DeGabrielle, Edward Dowd, Robert Fiske, Hal Hardin, Walter Holton, Brendan Johnson, Todd Jones, Douglas Jones, Ronald Machen, Salvatore Maxrtoche, Matthew Orwig, Brad Pigott, Richard Pocker, Timothy Pardon, Richard Rossman, Donald Stern, Richard Thornburgh, Brett Tolman, Gregory Vega, Edward Warin, Donald Washington and William Wilmoth were among the signers.

Republican cosponsors of the bill Sens. John Cornyn (R-Tex.), Chuck Grassley (R-Iowa), Lindsey Graham (R-S.C.), and Mike Lee (R-Utah) circulated the letter this morning to every member of Congress, along with a companion letter from former federal law enforcement officials. 30 NAFUSA members Larry Thompson, Bob Barr, Brett Tolman, Matthew Orwig, Lourdes Baird, James Brady, Ben Burgess, James Cissell, Robert Cleary, Michael Cody, Richard Cullen, William Cummings, Deborah Daniels, Thomas Dillard, Robert Fiske, Salvatore Maxrtoche, Melvin McDonald, Kenneth Mighell, Paul Perez, Richard Pocker, James Rolfe, Richard Roper, Joseph Russoniello, Richard Stacy, Herbert Stern, Stanley Twardy, R.E. Thompson, Atlee Wampler, Donald Washington and William Wilmoth signed the companion letter.

In December, however, another group of former government officials delivered a Letter to Senate leaders in opposition to S. 2123. It was signed by NAFUSA members Rudy Giuliani, Alice Martin, Michael Sullivan and James Dedrick.